But you need not worry because there is a way to opt out of this. Also, the opt-out period is only 30 days, so if you don’t want to share your phone number with Facebook, opt out immediately before the privacy changes.
There are two options given and both are described in the FAQ. Both the options will work for the Android and iOS apps.
1. Read the terms and conditions inside WhatsApp carefully.
When you are updating to the latest version of WhatsApp, you’ll see new terms and conditions. Once the application is done with the updating, the first security in the method will appear. Don’t hit “Agree” just, though! Read all the terms and conditions first and now uncheck the box that will share your Whatsapp information with the Facebook.
2. In your WhatsApp settings in case if you have agreed to the policy.
If you’ve already upgraded to the latest version and just hit the agree to the button, immediately hop into your WhatsApp settings. Tap on “Account.” Hither, you’ll find a new option for “Share my account info” and a brief description of the new policy. Just uncheck that box and you are all set.
Just inform your friends as well about this new change before the 30 day period ends. Applications are getting smarter these days and sometimes in a hurry we didn’t pay much attention. From the next time make sure you read everything before you tap agree on the button.
However, WhatsApp claims this change is just for sharing and improving your social activities. It says they won’t be sharing personal messages, chats, photos, videos sent on the app with Facebook. WhatsApp in an online FAQ said, “We will share some of your account information with Facebook and the Facebook family of companies, like the phone number you verified when you registered with WhatsApp, as well as the last time you used our service.”
Need not worry guys, the option is still open for you whether you want to share your information with the Facebook or not. It’s still in your hand, at least as of now.